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PROM DUI FACT SHEET

Teen drivers (ages 15-20) are at far greater risk of death in crashes where alcohol is present than the rest of us, even though they cannot legally purchase or possess alcohol.
Statistics
· 4 people under the age of 21 die each day in the U.S. in alcohol-impaired driving crashes.
· Among 15- to 20-year old drivers involved in fatal crashes, 31% of the drivers who were killed had been drinking and 25% who were killed in crashes had a BAC of .08 or higher.
· In Colorado, 47 young people (ages 15-20) were killed in car crashes in 2009.

· 10 teens were killed in car crashes during prom and graduation season from April to June 2009.

· In 2009, 14 people were killed by a driver under the age of 21 who was impaired by alcohol or drugs.
The Law

· Zero Tolerance: Even a trace of alcohol for drivers under the age of 21 is punishable by law.

· In Colorado, you could lose your driver's license if you drink under the legal age limit – even when you're not driving.
· Possessing alcohol under the age of 21 is a misdemeanor.

· DUI: Driving Under the Influence.  This includes driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (prescription or illegal drugs).

· The average cost of a DUI is $10,270 (including fines, court and attorney fees, increased insurance rates, mandatory treatment)
· If a person over the age of 21 (including parents) provides alcohol to a minor, that person can be charged with a felony of contributing to the delinquency of a minor and can also lose his or her driver’s license.

Enforcement

· This is the first year of Prom DUI Increased Enforcement.

· Law enforcement will be targeting ALL impaired drivers.  The goal is to make our roads safer for teens by arresting impaired drivers, whether they are teens or adults.

· The Colorado State Patrol and 64 local law enforcement agencies will be conducting increased and saturation patrols in April and May.  The agencies include:
	Adams County SO

	Alamosa County SO

	Arapahoe County SO

	Arvada PD

	Aurora PD

	Basalt PD

	Boulder PD

	Brighton PD

	Castle Rock PD

	Colorado Springs PD 

	Commerce City PD

	Cortez PD

	Denver PD

	Douglas County SO

	Durango PD

	Eagle County SO (GRDUITF)

	Edgewater PD

	El Paso County SO

	Erie PD

	Estes Park PD

	Evans PD

	Firestone PD

	Fort Lupton PD

	Fort Morgan PD

	Fountain PD

	Fraser/Winter Park PD

	Frederick PD

	Fremont County SO

	Gilcrest PD

	Gilpin County SO

	Glenwood Springs PD

	Grand Junction PD

	Greeley PD

	Greenwood Village PD

	Idaho Springs PD

	Jefferson County SO

	Kiowa County SO

	Lafayette PD

	Lakewood PD

	Larimer County SO

	Littleton PD

	Logan County SO

	Longmont PD

	Loveland PD

	Mancos MO

	Manitou Springs PD

	Mesa County SO

	Minturn PD

	Montezuma County SO

	Monument PD

	Northglenn PD

	Pagosa Springs PD

	Pueblo County SO

	Pueblo PD

	Rio Blanco County SO

	Steamboat Springs PD

	Sterling PD

	Summit County SO

	Walsenburg PD

	Washington County SO

	Weld County SO (Task Force)

	Westminster PD

	Wheat Ridge PD

	Woodland Park PD


